Equipment - Reisverslag uit Rotterdam, Nederland van Louis Buurman - WaarBenJij.nu Equipment - Reisverslag uit Rotterdam, Nederland van Louis Buurman - WaarBenJij.nu

Equipment

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Louis

16 Juni 2014 | Nederland, Rotterdam

The last post befor my actual depart!

Traveling by bike obviously asks for light packing and cutting down on what to bring. In the basics it comes down to a few categories: camping(gear), clothing, foodstuffs, electronics, and entertainment. I have a rather lightweight tent, mattress and sleeping bag. I save some weight there so I can bring the electronic heart of this trip: Ill use GPS navigation on my telephone, powered by a buffer- battery that gets charged by my front-wheel dynamo. I will obviously also bring a map, but by using a GPS I hope to avoid taking wrong turns, and have a bigger comfort in travelling overall (points of interest, city navigation etc.). And another nice thing about riding with GPS is that I can show people ‘at home’ where I am! I am not sure if it will work completely flawless, but I will try to upload my tracks to http://ridewithgps.com/users/269763 at the end of every day so you can actually see where I am!
For those interested, I use Osmand navigation and the Zzing (“Die Steckdose für’s Fahrrad”) power supply. With this powersupply I can also charge my MP3 player which brings me to the last category; entertainment! Ill bring about 8 audiobooks on my MP3 player so Ill have some entertainment on the road and before sleeping :).

And Ill bring my camera of course! Specially for this trip I bought a DSLR camera, the basic but fairly well functioning Nikon D3100. Expect some pictures here during my trip…

Last weekend I’ve had my ‘grande try-out’ on the Veluwe, to see if everything works the way it should. Ive had 20km of heavy rain and my phone barely survived so I definitely will have to bring an extra raincover for the framebag of my phone. Also, a hammock is not really necessary, as there are not a lot of trees in Scotland… Apart from that I think I have pretty much everything and I’m overall well prepared, physical as well as in equipment.

this afternoon my ferry will depart for Newcastle around 17:00 and Tuesdaymorning Ill start the first trip! I will try to send an update at least once a week but I hope more often. You’ll hear from me soon!

Louis

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Rotterdam

Scotland by Bike

1700 km through Scotland, by bike.

Recente Reisverslagen:

21 Juni 2014

Beyond Edinburgh!

16 Juni 2014

Equipment

14 Juni 2014

The route

11 Juni 2014

the introduction
Louis

The travelreports of the Dutch Biker Louis from Rotterdam

Actief sinds 16 Juni 2014
Verslag gelezen: 352
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4962

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Juni 2014 - 14 Juli 2014

Scotland by Bike

Landen bezocht: