the introduction - Reisverslag uit Rotterdam, Nederland van Louis Buurman - WaarBenJij.nu the introduction - Reisverslag uit Rotterdam, Nederland van Louis Buurman - WaarBenJij.nu

the introduction

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Louis

11 Juni 2014 | Nederland, Rotterdam

**This blog-entry was also published on http://www.thebravedame.com/scotland-by-bike-the-introduction/ ! **

Hello there! Here I am, only five days before my next trip. Before I tell you where I’m going, please let me introduce myself properly.

My name is Louis, 27, living in beautiful Rotterdam, Holland. This summer I decided to take a trip by bicycle, alone. This summer I will appear as a guest blogger on the Brave Dame. During my trip I will be checking in regularly.

At the beginning of this year I started making plans for summer. A particular idea has been crossing my mind for several years: travelling by bicycle. I’ve always wanted to travel through a country alone, just me and my bike. I like camping, and the freedom that comes with it: bringing your ‘home’ with you, wherever you go. The idea of not knowing where you will sleep or when you can eat makes it all very appealing to me.

The next question was obviously where to go. I could get a month off from work, so definitely not too far, of course not too expensive and it should still be slightly challenging for me.

Soon Scotland came to mind. Now, I have been there before by car, and I can tell you what a beautiful country it is. Besides, my kind of trip could turn out quite affordable since wild camping is allowed there. That’s when I decided: Scotland it is!

Right now I am packing and preparing for my trip. Last weekend I’ve had my ‘grande try-out’ in the Dutch countryside to see if everything works the way that it should. I rode 20 km of my 80 km trip in heavy rain and my phone barely survived. Since my maps are on there, I definitely need to consider packing a cover. Apart from that I think I have pretty much everything and I’m overall well prepared, physical as well as equipment wise.

Louis

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Rotterdam

Scotland by Bike

1700 km through Scotland, by bike.

Recente Reisverslagen:

21 Juni 2014

Beyond Edinburgh!

16 Juni 2014

Equipment

14 Juni 2014

The route

11 Juni 2014

the introduction
Louis

The travelreports of the Dutch Biker Louis from Rotterdam

Actief sinds 16 Juni 2014
Verslag gelezen: 199
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4965

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Juni 2014 - 14 Juli 2014

Scotland by Bike

Landen bezocht: